Update on my fostered elephant

IMG_1691

Photo: David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust 

At Christmas, I fostered an elephant through the David Sheldrick Wildlife Trust in Kenya.  My elephant is Malkia, and every month, I receive updates and photos of her.

I’m happy to report she has been doing well.  In fact, they believe she has matriarchal tendencies, always looking out for the other elephants and seeming to lead the littlest ones.

The one I fostered for my niece and nephews, named Ambo, is very funny and always getting into trouble.

I recommend fostering ($50 for a year) if you want to give a gift that keeps on giving – the kids anxiously await for their new photo and email update every month.  I wasn’t sure how they would react to a gift that they couldn’t hold or play with, so I’m delighted that they love it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

